ISL season 5 starting date-Venue and Time of 2018-2019 ISL ?

ISL season 5 starting date

All you need to know about ISL Season 5: Schedule, Top Teams, and Venues

ISL Season 5 is scheduled to start from September 29 at the Salt Lake Stadium. Two-time champions ATK (Athletico De Kolkata) will be playing against Kerala Blaster in the opening match.This article talks about ISL season 5 starting date.

A glimpse of the history of ISL

Indian Super League, better known as ISL, which has started in 2013 has turned itself into the biggest and favorite football league of India. The official name of the league is Hero Indian Superleague. It is the most recent football league that was founded in India and yet, it has become one of the most popular leagues of the country and shares the same spot with the biggest league and one of the oldest football leagues of India, the I-League. The league was founded by the IMG, Star Sports and IMG in collaboration. The motto of the league was to grow the sports culture of the country and support the rising talent by giving them a new platform where they can showcase their talent and gain worldwide exposure.ISL season 5 starting date

The first match of the league took place in the year 2014. In the first season, there were 8 participants. In the first three seasons, the league continued without any recognition from the Asian Football Confederation. But the success of the league helped the league to earn recognition from the AFC right before its 4 Season. The league now runs alongside with the major sports league of the country such as IPL ( Indian Premier League) and twenty-twenty. The league has now attracted some major players from all over the world.It has also attracted lots of potential investors. So, let us have a look at some of the top teams that would be performing this season.

The giants of the season

  • Chennaiyin FC: The defending champions from the last season, The devotees of this team take pride in calling themselves as the “Super Machans”. The home ground for this teams is the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. The newly appointed coach of the team is Mr. John Gregory who is brought in from England in the last season as a replacement for their former manager, Marco Materazzi. The team has a balanced number of national and international players.
  • Kerala Blasters FC: Also known as the “Manjappada”, Kerala Blasters have one of the best fan clubs among all. The team has even won an award for the same. Last season, they gave a good fight for the title.
  • Atletico de Kolkata: One of the most successful teams of ISL, Atletico de Kolkata has some big names such as Gerson Vieira (striker) along with Arindam Bhattacharya (goalkeeper) on their side with the reputed Steve Coppell as their head coach and mentor.
  • Bengaluru FC: This is their second league. The Bengaluru Fc, who failed to make it big last season is trying hard to lift up the trophy. Their fans can’t wait to watch this team win the title. The team is also known as the “West Block Blues,” .The Sree Kanteerava Stadium serves as the home ground for the team.

ISL starting date Venue for Season 5 (2018-2019)

So, be ready for the next season for one of the biggest and exciting football league of India which is scheduled to start from 29 September. The former champion, Athletico De Kolkata will be playing against the Kerala Blasters in the Salt Lake Stadium. The matches are scheduled to start from 7:30 P.M.

Author: vishnu

Loves football writes about Football and ISL news.Please follow us on social media for updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fifteen + seventeen =